Saturday, August 1, 2015

The Great Toilet Debate






Have you ever noticed that the toilet manners vary widely across geographies?

It is amusing to note that even private and mundane things like toilet usage evokes such strong emotions by people. Do a google search and you would find numerous posts and forums on this topic.
There are many categories of toilet users e.g. Squatters Vs. Sitters and Washers Vs. Wipers and each one has a cult following of their own. All practitioners defend their style vigorously armed with strong reasoning. It is amazing, how people are so specific about whether the toilet seat should be kept down or up or whether everyone should pee in sitting or standing position. Some people are so egotistic that they would go to any length to defend their style.

It is very amusing to see people using theory of fluid dynamics, probability, game theory, being eco-friendly and hygienic and energy conservation to justify their choices. I found people who claim that they have been veteran plumbers supporting the opposite camps! You would find such strong logics in favor of each style that it you would be perplexed to choose a right one. There are many male chauvinist that they consider peeing standing is their birth right and peeing in sitting position is against their masculanity. Some people are so superstitious that they belive they would lose their masculanity if they pee sitting. Search WikiHow, and you would find pages on manners and surprisingly it has even five ways with illustrations on how a female should pee in standing position!

People who are used to use bidet would be aghast on finding an American toilet without a bidet. And people who are not used to bidet would be amused to see it and not having a clue about its purpose and how to use it. The devotee of squatters would advocate how it is useful in slow bowel movements and how it is more hygienic to use squatting style commode. 

So which category do you belong to? Do you keep the seat of t toilet down after every use? Do you wash or just wipe? Do you prefer squatting or sitting?

No comments: